Connected scales BEESCALE4
TRANSMITTERS AND POWER SUPPLIES

For the new 2023 season, we have decided to radically redesign the BEESCALE4 transmitters with an emphasis on DURABILITY, REPAIRABILITY and SIMPLICITY. The goal is to offer a system that will withstand at least 5 years of outdoor conditions and that can be maintained by the user.

Durability, Repairability, Simplicity!

TRANSMITTERS - NEW DESIGN !

In this new 2023 design, we have two great novelties:
- the transmission and the power supply are separated
- the transmitter has an LCD display

The separate power supply brings a great modularity. It can be made either by our solar box, or by an external battery, or on mains. You just have to respect the input voltage (7.5V). The 3 power supplies are presented in detail below

L’écran LCD apporte une plus grande simplicité d’utilisation. Il affiche les informations suivantes :
– le voltage de l’alimentation (charge de la batterie)
– la qualité de la connexion réseau (pour le 4G/2G uniquement)
– la valeur des 4 poids (si les pesons sont raccordés).
Si la tension d’alimentation est insuffisante (<6V), le bouton de RESET clignote et le transmetteur ne démarre pas.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
BEESCALE4 transmitters

- 1 to 4 weight sensors
- weather sensor
- 1 to 4 brood sensors
- LCD screen
- RESET button for luminous test and restart
- External power supply 7.5V
- Available in SIGFOX or GSM 4G/2G
- Swarming alert in less than 4mn
- Anti-theft alert in less than 4mn
- Plug n play : connect, press Reset and go !
- Possible extensions

Hive scale - Transmitter BS4R-4G

1 - Power supply 6.5V-9V
2 - LCD screen
3 - RESET button
4 - Channels 1 to 4
5 - Debug output

An LCD screen for simpler to use!

THE THREE POWER SUPPLIES OF THE BEESCALE4 TRANSMITTERS

DesignationReference
Solar power supply : Protection box for transmitter with solar battery BS4R-SOL
Mains power supply : Transformer 220V - 7.5V / 3A for transmitterBS4R-DC
Power supply on external battery : Cable for 12V battery with DC 7.5V converterBS4R-CBL

1 - AUTONOMOUS AND WATERPROOF box (Solar power supply and protection)

To put your scale anywhereù in the nature !

We have developed a specific box, equipped with 2 solar panels and 4 batteries18650 LiFePO4 3.2V to receive the transmitter. This box brings a powerful and durable power supply to the transmitter. It is designed to be hung vertically on the side of the hives or on a stand. The batteries can easily be changed by the user with a standard Phillips screwdriver. The design of the housing prevents condensation and protects the transmitter perfectly from the weather. It has a quick opening and is completely waterproof.
The batteries are non-flammable and have a long life. This power supply delivers a stabilized voltage of 6.2V to 7.2V (3A peak)

SELF-CONTAINING - Solar battery / protection

1 - Quick closing valve
2 - Solar panels
3 - Padlock slot
4 - Fixing lugs (x4)

A specific protection case for an optimal DURABILITY !

2 - Power supply on 220V

The transmitter can also be simply powered by a stabilized 7.5V / 3A power supply, connected to the mains. This solution is suitable for beekeepers who have a power source close to the apiary (school apiaries, covered hives etc...). In this configuration, there is no protection box for the transmitter. It is imperative to protect it by your own means from bad weather (under cover or in a hive).

Power supply 220V

3 - Power supply on 12V battery

You can also connect the transmitter to an external battery, such as a 12V battery equipped with a converter cable lowering the voltage to 7.5V that we provide. In this configuration, there is no protective case for the transmitter. Itis imperative to protect it by your own means from bad weather (under cover or in a hive).

Power supply Battery
12V


THE THREE BEESCALE4 TRANSMITTER VERSIONS

DesignationReference
BeeScale SIGFOX Plain transmitterBS4R
Transmitter BeeScale 4G/2G All terrainBS4G
Transmitter BeeScale 4G/2G Extensible - Relay and ExtensionBS4X-RELAIS and BS4X-EXT

BS4R : The BEESCALE4 SIGFOX "Plain" version for 4 hives

The "Original" version that uses the SIGFOX network to transmit data.
Allows to connect the 4 scales and the probes to a single transmitter "that does everything". Equipped with an antenna that can be offset and placed on the roof of the hive for better reception. Very economical, this version is limited to lowland areas, rather urbanized. It is often lacking in mountainous areas (Alps, Cevennes, Pyrenees) or in sparsely populated areas.

Are you covered by Sigfox?

We have extremely accurate coverage maps provided by Sigfox. These maps are unfortunately not public. There are small tools to estimate if the coverage is good. We could put them online as many connected object providers do but these tools are very imprecise and do not inform you with certainty. We prefer to give you a coverage analysis. Just ask us!

If you want to know more about Sigfox, it is here https://www.sigfox.com/en/coverage

BS4R SIGFOX, the best-selling version!


BS4G : The BEESCALE4 4G/2G "All terrain" version for 4 hives

BS4R - 4G/2G version

The "All Terrain" version which uses the GSM 4G/2G network to transmit data.
This version has been specially developed to allow beekeepers in mountainous and sparsely populated areas to use hive scales. It is a rather complex solution technically but is the only option for many beekeepers. This version is worldwide and works in more than 140 countries. It ensures a very good coverage in all the countries where we currently sell: France, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Finland.

The SIM card is already integrated in the box. The antenna is also inside the box.

Why do we insist so much on 2G?

If it is relatively easy to propose 4G (especially with the new 4G-LTEM and 4G-NBIOT standards), it is much more complex to propose 2G (GPRS and EDGE standards). We have worked hard to be able to offer a module that communicates in 4G and switches to 2G if 4G is not found.
Why is this?
Today 4G is far from providing full coverage in Europe, most often in remote areas, it is 2G that provides good coverage for GSM. According to operators, this situation will continue until at least 2035.

An excellent site to know the mobile coverage : https://monreseaumobile.arcep.fr/. For 2G click on coverage / voice and SMS / 2G

BS4G Tout Terrain, the version for PRO beekeepers!


MS4X : The BEESCALE4 4G/2G "Extensible" version for 1 to 24 hives

The "Extensible 1 to 24 hives" version.
This version consists of 2 boxes: a relay that sends information to the network and an extension that is connected to the hives to collect data and communicates with the relay. Each "extension" box allows to connect 4 hives. With 6 extensions and one relay, it is possible to connect 24 hives.

This configuration is a unique concept in Europe. It has seduced many beekeepers and school apiaries who wish to have total control of all their hives. Coupled with the MeteoMiel data manager, this makes it a powerful apiary management tool.

What is the budget? Is it expensive?

Our priority is the reliability and durability of the materials. Nevertheless, we maintain competitive costs, for 24 equipped hives you should count on a cost price of 120€ HT/hive. If your equipment lasts 5 to 10 years, it will cost you between 10€ to 15€ per year and per hive, that is to say hardly the price of one kg of honey.

By accurately tracking your hives, you will no longer lose swarms and you will not miss feedings (you will also use less). When used properly, the equipment has an ROI (return on investment) of only 2 to 3 years. And that's not counting the comfort and savings of having a permanent follow-up of your hives without having to make visits.

An excellent site to know the GSM coverage :
https://monreseaumobile.arcep.fr/. For 2G click on coverage / voice and SMS / 2G

BS4X For experienced beekeepers and apiaries!

Balances connectées BEESCALE4
TRANSMETTEURS ET ALIMENTATIONS

Pour la nouvelle saison 2023, nous avons décidé de revoir radicalement la conception des transmetteurs BEESCALE4 en mettant l’accent sur la DURABILITÉ, la REPARABILITÉ et la SIMPLICITÉ. L’objectif est de proposer un système qui résistera au moins 5 ans aux conditions extérieures et qui pourra être maintenu par l’utilisateur.

Durabilité, Réparabilité, Simplicité !

TRANSMETTEURS – NOUVEAU DESIGN !

Dans ce nouveau design 2023, nous avons deux grandes nouveautés :
– la transmission et l’alimentation sont séparés
– le transmetteur comporte un écran LCD

L’alimentation séparée apporte une grande modularité. Elle peut être faite soit par notre boitier solaire, soit par une batterie externe, soit sur secteur. Il faut simplement respecter le voltage d’entrée (7.5V). Les 3 alimentations sont présentées en détails ci-dessous

L’écran LCD apporte une plus grande simplicité d’utilisation. Il affiche les informations suivantes :
– le voltage de l’alimentation (charge de la batterie)
– la qualité de la connexion réseau (pour le 4G/2G uniquement)
– la valeur des 4 poids (si les pesons sont raccordés).
Si la tension d’alimentation est insuffisante (<6V), le bouton de RESET clignote et le transmetteur ne démarre pas.

SPECIFICATIONS TECHNIQUES
Transmetteurs BEESCALE4

– 1 à 4 capteurs de poids (pesons)
– capteur météo
– 1 à 4 capteur de couvain
– Ecran LCD
– Bouton RESET de test lumineux et de redémarrage
– Alimentation externe 7.5V
– Disponible en SIGFOX ou en GSM 4G/2G
– Alerte essaimage en moins de 4mn
– Alerte antivol en moins de 4mn
– Plug’n play : raccordez, appuyez sur Reset et c’est parti !
– Rallonges possibles

Balance de ruche – Transmetteur BS4R-4G

1 – Alimentation 6.5V-9V
2 – Ecran LCD
3 – Bouton RESET
4 – Voies 1 à 4
5 – Sortie débogage

Un écran LCD pour une utilisation plus SIMPLE !

LES TROIS ALIMENTATIONS DES TRANSMETTEURS BEESCALE4

DésignationRéférence
Alimentation solaire : Boitier de protection pour transmetteur avec batterie solaire BS4R-SOL
Alimentation sur secteur : Transformateur 220V – 7.5V / 3A pour émetteurBS4R-DC
Alimentation sur batterie externe : Cable pour batterie 12V avec convertisseur DC 7.5VBS4R-CBL

1 – Boitier AUTONOME ETANCHE (Alimentation Solaire et protection)

Pour mettre votre balance n’importe ou dans la nature !

Nous avons développé un boitier spécifique, équipé de 2 panneaux solaires et de 4 batteries18650 LiFePO4 3.2V pour recevoir le transmetteur. Ce boitier apporte une alimentation puissante et durable au transmetteur. Il est conçu pour être accroché verticalement sur le côtés des ruches ou sur un support. Les piles peuvent facilement être changées par l’utilisateur à l’aide d’un simple tournevis cruciforme standard. De part sa conception, le boitier évite toute condensation et protège parfaitement le transmetteur des intempéries. Il est munis d’une ouverture rapide et est parfaitement étanche au ruissellement de l’eau.
Les piles sont non inflammable et ont une durée de vie longue. Cette alimentation délivre une tension stabilisée de 6.2V à 7.2V (3A pic)

Boitier AUTONOME – Batterie Solaire / protection

1 – Clapet de fermeture rapide
2 – Panneaux solaires
3 – Emplacement pour cadenas
4 – pattes de fixation (x4)

Un boitier de protection spécifique pour une DURABILITE optimale !

2 – Alimentation sur 220V

Le transmetteur peut également être simplement alimenté par le biais d’une alimentation stabilisée 7.5V / 3A, raccordée sur le secteur. Cette solution conviendra aux apiculteurs disposant d’une source d’alimentation à proximité du rucher (ruchers écoles, ruches couverts etc…). Dans cette configuration, il n’y a pas de boitier de protection pour le transmetteur. Il est impératif de le protéger par vos propres moyens des intempéries (sous couvert ou dans une ruchette).

Alimentation 220V

3 – Alimentation sur batterie 12V

Vous pouvez également raccorder le transmetteur à une batterie externe, type batterie 12V équipée d’un câble convertisseur abaissant la tension à 7,5V . Dans cette configuration, il n’y a pas de boitier de protection pour le transmetteur. Il est impératif de le protéger par vos propres moyens des intempéries (sous couvert ou dans une ruchette).

Alimentation Batterie
12V


LES TROIS VERSIONS DE TRANSMETTEURS BEESCALE4

DésignationRéférence
Transmetteur BeeScale SIGFOX PlaineBS4R
Transmetteur BeeScale 4G/2G Tout terrainBS4G
Transmetteur BeeScale 4G/2G Extensible – Relais et ExtensionBS4X-RELAIS et BS4X-EXT

MS4R : La version BEESCALE4 SIGFOX “Plaine” pour 4 ruches

La version “Originale” qui utilise le réseau SIGFOX pour transmettre les données.
Permet de raccorder les 4 pesons et les sondes à un seul transmetteur “qui fait tout”. Équipée d’une antenne qui peut être déportée et placée sur le toit de la ruche pour une meilleure réception. Très économique, cette version reste limitée aux zones de plaine, plutôt urbanisées. Elle est souvent en défaut dans les massifs montagneux (Alpes, Cévennes, Pyrénées) ou dans les zones peu habitées.

Etes-vous couverts par Sigfox ?

Nous avons des cartes de couverture extrêmement précises fournit par Sigfox. Ces cartes ne sont malheureusement pas publiques. Il existe de petits outils permettant d’estimer si la couverture est bonne. Nous pourrions les mettre en ligne comme le font de nombreux fournisseurs d’objet connectés mais ces outils sont très imprécis et ne vous renseignent pas avec certitude. Nous préférons vous faire une analyse de couverture. Il suffit de nous demander !

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur Sigfox, c’est ici https://www.sigfox.com/en/coverage

MS4R SIGFOX, la version la plus vendue !


MS4G : La version BEESCALE4 4G/2G “Tout terrain” pour 4 ruches

Boitier BS4R- version 4G/2G

La version “Tout terrain” qui utilise le réseau GSM 4G/2G pour transmettre les données.
Cette version a été spécialement développée pour permettre aux apiculteurs de montagne et des régions peu habitées d’utiliser des balances de ruche. C’est une solution assez complexe techniquement mais qui est la seule option pour de nombreux apiculteurs. Cette version est mondiale et fonctionne dans plus de 140 pays. Elle assure une très bonne couverture dans tous les pays ou nous vendons couramment : France, Belgique, Allemagne, Suisse, Danemark, Finlande.

La carte SIM est déjà intégrée dans le boitier. L’antenne est également à l’intérieur du boitier.

Pourquoi nous insistons tant sur la 2G ?

Si il est relativement simple de proposer de la 4G (notamment avec les nouvelles normes 4G-LTEM et 4G-NBIOT), il est en revanche beaucoup plus complexe de proposer la 2G (norme GPRS et EDGE). Nous avons beaucoup travaillé à être en mesure de proposer un module qui communique en 4G et qui bascule en 2G si la 4G n’est pas trouvée.
Pourquoi ?
Aujourd’hui la 4G est loin d’assurer une couverture totale en Europe, le plus souvent dans les zones reculées, c’est la 2G qui permet d’assurer une bonne couverture pour le GSM. D’après les opérateurs, cette situation va perdurer jusqu’au moins 2035.

Un excellent site pour connaitre la couverture mobile : https://monreseaumobile.arcep.fr/. Pour la 2G cliquer sur couverture / voix et SMS / 2G

MS4G Tout Terrain, la version des apiculteurs PRO !


MS4X : La version BEESCALE4 4G/2G “Extensible” pour 8 à 24 ruches

La version “Extensible 4 à 24 ruches”.
Cette version est constituée de 2 boitiers : un relais qui envoie les informations au réseau et une extension qui est raccordé aux ruches pour collecter les données et qui communique avec le relais. Chaque boitier “extension” permet de raccorder 4 ruches. Avec 6 extensions et un relais, il est possible de raccorder 24 ruches.

Cette configuration est un concept unique en Europe. Elle a séduit de nombreux apiculteurs et rucher école qui souhaitent avoir le contrôle total de toutes leur ruches. Couplé au gestionnaire de données MeteoMiel, cela en fait un outil puissant de gestion du rucher.

Quel budget ? Est-ce que c’est cher ?

Notre priorité est la fiabilité et la durabilité des matériels. Néanmoins, nous maintenons des coûts compétitifs, pour 24 ruches équipées il faut compter un prix de revient de 120€HT/ruche. Si votre matériel dure 5 à 10 ans, cela vous reviendra entre 10€ à 15€ par an et par ruche, soit à peine le prix d’un kg de miel.

En suivant vos ruches avec précision, vous ne perdrez plus d’essaim et vous ne raterez plus les nourrissements (vous en utiliserez également moins). Bien utilisé, le matériel a un ROI (retour sur investissement ) d’à peine 2 à 3 ans. Et cela sans compter le confort et les économies réalisées d’avoir un suivi permanent de vos ruches sans avoir à faire de visites.

Un excellent site pour connaitre la couverture GSM :
https://monreseaumobile.arcep.fr/. Pour la 2G cliquer sur couverture / voix et SMS / 2G

MS4X Pour les apiculteurs confirmés et les ruchers écoles !